First Presidency Announces 2018 Area Leadership Assignments

Elder Edward Dube returns as the second counselor. 

First Presidency Announces 2018 Area Leadership Assignments

The First Presidency has announced new area leadership assignments for each of its 21 global geographic regions, which will take effect August 1, 2018,*. Unique in this year’s announcement is the calling of area presidencies for regions in the U.S. and Canada, which will be divided into six areas. (Note: Until August 1, 2018, the Presidents of the Seventy will continue to provide direct supervision for the U.S. and Canada.)

'The creation of area presidencies for the United States and Canada is an important step forward,' said President M. Russell Ballard, Acting President of the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles. 'It will allow these brethren to focus on the specific needs of each domestic area, providing counsel and direction to regional and local leaders in the U.S. and Canada. It also allows the Presidency of the Seventy greater capacity to assist the Quorum of the Twelve in their work and fulfill other assignments. We are grateful to these Brethren for their willingness to serve in these new important assignments.'

The six Area Presidencies in the U.S and Canada will operate out of Church headquarters in Salt Lake City. They will be supervised by the Quorum of the Twelve Apostles, who are assisted by the Presidency of the Seventy. All other Area Presidencies will, as they have always done, live in their areas.

All members of Area Presidencies are General Authority Seventies or Area Seventies.